Write what you know

I was reading quotes from the Games of Throne Author. I especially like this one about Write What You Know.

In creative writing classes in college, the professors will say, ‘Write what you know.’ And that’s often misinterpreted to mean you should write a thinly veiled autobiography. [Like] a graduate student in English Literature at University, writing a story in which the hero is a graduate student in English Literature at University. It would seem to, on the surface, disallow science fiction and fantasy and so forth, since none of us are actually barbarians or knights or lords or even peasants. But I think you have to interpret ‘Write what you know’ much more broadly than that. We’re talking about emotional truth here. We’re talking about reaching inside here to make your characters real. If you’re going to write about a character witnessing a loved one die, you have to dig into yourself, and say, “Did you ever remember losing a loved one?” Even if it’s only a dog that you loved as a child or something. Tap that vein of emotional energy. In some ways, it’s not terribly different from what method actors do…. We observe other people from the outside. The only person we ever really know inside and out is ourselves, and we have to reach into ourselves to find the power that makes great fiction real.— Interview with Peter Orullian, October 2011

I had always taken that quote ’Write what you know’ the wrong way. I also thought they were talking about work and life experiences. I never stopped to consider it in terms of emotional experiences. Brilliant!

About catrinaburgess

YA Horror Paranormal Author Books: Awakening & Possession Howdy, Dudettes & Dudes. I'm Catrina Burgess AKA Chaoscat I live in a small mining town in Arizona. The place at night is definitely spooky. I swear I've heard the wind giggle and sometimes there's a very odd breeze that blows at night. There's something unnatural about it--it's truly spooky and sends shivers down your spine. I love all things that go bump in the night. I adore old movies.I’m a huge Joss Wheldon fan. When I grow up I want to be a super hero. I want a cool red and black costume and I want some rocken powers. I've been known to eat pizza and cold Chinese food for breakfast and I’m the queen of the board game Stratego. I’ve never been beaten. NEVER! ;-) I have evil Chronic Fatigue. Which makes life challenging sometimes. Book 2 avaiable 10/14, Book 3 available 10/21 & Book 4 coming Feb 2016 http://fullfathomfive.com/writers/catrina-burgess/the-dark-rituals/ The series had over 3 Million Reads on Wattpad/ Book 1 voted Wattpad Best Suspense 2014 Website - http://www.catrinaburgess.com/ Follow me on Twitter @catrinaburgess1 Personal Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/catrina.burgess.5 Author Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/authorcatrinaburgess Check out the Dark Ritual reviews on GoodReads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19086878-awakening
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

