New Horror Movie trailer and a ghost story it reminded me of…

I watched this clip, and it reminded me of something.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3235888/?ref_=ext_shr_fb_vi#lb-vi1876930073

I once threw a party back when I was in college, in a small apartment I shared with a roommate. We thought it would be fun to invite some of our classmates over. It was a small gathering, and we were all eating and drinking and being merry when there was a knock at the door. I opened the door and saw a dude I knew from my English class—Joe. Beside him was his blond roommate, a guy named Adam I recognized from the track team. Apparently my roommate had the hots for Joe and had invited him over. I had no problem with Jo, my problem was with his roommate because Adam had brought along a guest of his own. A very unwelcome guest. Standing behind Adam was this very large, very dark shadow.

I was so surprised at what I saw I did a double take. I looked over at my roommate. Her eyes were focused on the same spot behind Adam that I had been staring at. She was Native American, and her father was the medicine man in her tribe. When she looked back at me, her eyes were wide with shock. Apparently whatever I was seeing, she saw it too.

I said the first thing that popped into my head, “No way are you coming in and bringing that thing in here.”

To which Adam replied, “Where I go, it goes. It follows me.”

Joe looked at all three of us as though we had lost our minds.

I took a few steps until I stood in front of the doorway, blocking it. “I’m sorry you can’t come in.”

Adam’s shoulders slumped, and he let out a long sigh.

I still couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I’d sensed things before. Been in old houses and had felt the hair on my back of my neck rise at times. I believed in ghosts. Other people in my family had seen them. But I’d only felt unearthly presences before, I had never actually seen a ghost.

As Adam turned to leave, I called out, “What is it?”

He looked back at me and a terrible sadness filled his eyes. “I was out in the desert hiking. I went into an old mining tunnel, and when I came out, it came out with me. It’s been following me ever since.”

I watched him walk down the hall. I closed the door and looked over at my roommate. Her face was pale and her eyes were still wide with shock.

I felt this urge I couldn’t resist. I walked across the room and looked out the window. Our apartment overlooked the parking lot. I watched Adam walk to his car. The two boys stood outside the car talking for a few minutes.

The shadow was still there, a few feet behind Adam—still big, still dark, and still creepy as hell.

What the hell is it? Thank god he didn’t bring it into my apartment. The thoughts barely slid across my mind when I heard laughter. Not laughter coming from the party, but a deep, growly laughter that seemed to be coming from inside my head. At the same moment I heard the laughter, Adam’s head shot up, and he looked straight up at me.

I slept with the lights on that night. And the next. And the night after that. I was so freaked out I went to a local store that sold books on magic and tarot cards. I explained to the lady behind the desk what had happened. She told me it was probably an evil entity. Possibly a demon. She went on to explain that the best way to keep it out was to draw the rune of protection on pieces of paper and put them on every window of my apartment. And to make sure to put one at the top of my door.

I never talked to Adam again, but a few weeks later I noticed a big change in Joe. Joe had bags under his eyes, and his complexation was much paler than normal. A week went by, and the bags got deeper and they took on a purple hue. But Joe didn’t just seem exhausted, he also seemed very jittery. All during class he would drum his fingers on the desk and would nervously tap his foot.

One day after class, I caught up with him and asked him if he was okay. He told me that he’d been having these awful nightmares. That he couldn’t sleep at night because of these horrific images that kept plaguing his dreams. I thought back to Adam’s shadow. Joe didn’t just look ill, he looked like someone under a great deal of mental stress. Joe shared a room with him. Adam said the shadow followed him everywhere. That meant Joe was also rooming with the evil dark thing.

So Evil Minions is this a story I made up? Or something that actually happened to me? What do you think? 😉

About catrinaburgess

YA Horror Paranormal Author Books: Awakening & Possession Howdy, Dudettes & Dudes. I'm Catrina Burgess AKA Chaoscat I live in a small mining town in Arizona. The place at night is definitely spooky. I swear I've heard the wind giggle and sometimes there's a very odd breeze that blows at night. There's something unnatural about it--it's truly spooky and sends shivers down your spine. I love all things that go bump in the night. I adore old movies.I’m a huge Joss Wheldon fan. When I grow up I want to be a super hero. I want a cool red and black costume and I want some rocken powers. I've been known to eat pizza and cold Chinese food for breakfast and I’m the queen of the board game Stratego. I’ve never been beaten. NEVER! ;-) I have evil Chronic Fatigue. Which makes life challenging sometimes. Book 2 avaiable 10/14, Book 3 available 10/21 & Book 4 coming Feb 2016 http://fullfathomfive.com/writers/catrina-burgess/the-dark-rituals/ The series had over 3 Million Reads on Wattpad/ Book 1 voted Wattpad Best Suspense 2014 Website - http://www.catrinaburgess.com/ Follow me on Twitter @catrinaburgess1 Personal Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/catrina.burgess.5 Author Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/authorcatrinaburgess Check out the Dark Ritual reviews on GoodReads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19086878-awakening
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

