Easy Six Minute Veggie Soup

This my go to fast veggie soup. I use whatever veggies I have in the fridge. And I posted some variations at the end of the recipe.

Jacques Pepin’s Six minute vegetable soup
It couldn’t be easier or faster to prepare this soup from scratch. Gloria calls it “fridge soup,” because I make it with whatever leftover vegetables I have in the refrigerator. In the time it takes to bring the 5 cups of water (stock can be used instead, but I like the true taste I get of the vegetables when the base is water) to a boil, I can usually shred the vegetables to be added to the soup. I use the side of a box grater with the largest holes for grating the vegetables.

Instead of using the vegetables listed, I have also made this soup with broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, eggplant, and potatoes. I like to thicken it with a starch, selecting grits here but sometimes adding angel hair pasta, semolina, oatmeal, yellow cornmeal, or tapioca instead. Experiment — it will become your soup. A dash of butter or oil is a nice finishing touch, and we like to add shredded Swiss cheese at the end, although grated Parmesan is good, too.

LEVEL: EASY
YIELD: 6 CUPS
SERVES: 4

Ingredients
• 5 c. water or chicken broth
• 1c. shredded zucchini
• 1 c. shredded carrot
• 1 c. shredded onion
• 1 c. shredded white button mushrooms
• ¼ cup minced scallions
• 2 c. loosely packed, coarsely sliced salad greens – I like spinach or cabbage.
• 1 tsp. salt
• 3 tbsp. instant grits or small pasta or cooked rice.
• 4 tsp. unsalted butter or olive oil – I like butter. THIS GETS ADDED WHEN YOU HAVE SOUP IN BOWL AND ABOUT TO SERVE AT VERY END {When you are done with soup put in bowl and add one tsp butter to each bowl. Stir and then serve)

Directions
1. Bring the water/broth to a boil in a large saucepan.

2. Add all the vegetables to the boiling water along with the salt. Bring the soup back to a boil, and boil, uncovered, for 2 to 3 minutes. Sprinkle the grits on top of the boiling liquid, reduce the heat to low, and cook gently for 2 to 3 minutes longer.

3. Serve hot in soup bowls, spooning about 1 teaspoon of the olive oil or butter on each serving. Stir. Serve.

Variations:
I just chop up a bunch of cup of mushrooms, cup of carrots, cup of cauliflower, four green onions, and add a handful of spinach

Basically you can use whatever veggies you have in the fridge.

For this soup you need –veggies, some type of spinach/cabbage, some type of pasta (could be instant grits, can be small pasta stars, can be cooked rice) and an oil (can be butter or olive oil).

If you use stars or small pasta those may take 10 minutes to cook so put them in a bit early before you throw in the veggies to cook. And when done you always added the oil or butter the very end.

I use chicken broth. If I don’t’ have any I use water.

You can add chicken into this. Though I usually cook chicken separate by boiling in another pot of water for six minutes and then adding it to soup to cook for last couple minutes.

Cosco has these cool chicken wontons that I often use. I put the wontons in the bowl and once the soup is added it takes only a minute or two for the wontons to cook.

There you have it a fast, healthy six minute veggie soup!

About catrinaburgess

YA Horror Paranormal Author Books: Awakening & Possession Howdy, Dudettes & Dudes. I'm Catrina Burgess AKA Chaoscat I live in a small mining town in Arizona. The place at night is definitely spooky. I swear I've heard the wind giggle and sometimes there's a very odd breeze that blows at night. There's something unnatural about it--it's truly spooky and sends shivers down your spine. I love all things that go bump in the night. I adore old movies.I’m a huge Joss Wheldon fan. When I grow up I want to be a super hero. I want a cool red and black costume and I want some rocken powers. I've been known to eat pizza and cold Chinese food for breakfast and I’m the queen of the board game Stratego. I’ve never been beaten. NEVER! ;-) I have evil Chronic Fatigue. Which makes life challenging sometimes. Book 2 avaiable 10/14, Book 3 available 10/21 & Book 4 coming Feb 2016 http://fullfathomfive.com/writers/catrina-burgess/the-dark-rituals/ The series had over 3 Million Reads on Wattpad/ Book 1 voted Wattpad Best Suspense 2014 Website - http://www.catrinaburgess.com/ Follow me on Twitter @catrinaburgess1 Personal Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/catrina.burgess.5 Author Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/authorcatrinaburgess Check out the Dark Ritual reviews on GoodReads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19086878-awakening
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

