Ooh it’s quite chilly over here in Arizona this week

I decided it was time to start making some soup for lunch. So for today’s lunch I whipped up some Pumpkin Curry and Coconut Milk Soup

I’ve tried a couple different pumpkin soup recipes and so far I like this one the best. It’s very spicy and warm tasting. Great for chilly days. I did just add a note about cutting out some of the spicy if you won’t like things spicy. I tweaked the original recipe I found and doubled it since I had a big can of pumpkin. So here is how it all worked out:

Pumpkin Curry and Coconut Milk Soup

1 /4 cup of olive oil
2 cups chopped onions
2 cloves garlic, minced
6 cups chicken broth (I used six cups of water and one chicken bullion cube)
3 teaspoons curry powder
1 /4 teaspoon red pepper
1 teaspoon Cinnamon
1 / 2 teaspoon ginger
1/ 2 teaspoon of garam masala
1 (29 ounce can) 100% pure pumpkin
2 cups coconut milk
1 can evaporated milk

Directions
Heat oil. Stir in the onions and garlic; cook until the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. Mix in the broth, pumpkin, stir in all spices (curry powder, cinnamon, ginger, garam masala red pepper). Cook and stir until the mixture comes to a gentle boil, about 10 minutes. Stir in evaporated milk. Cook for 10 minutes. Add in coconut milk and cook for 5 minutes.

Catnote: I like spicy so if you like things less spicy cut down to 2tsp of curry, 1/8 teaspoon of red pepper and omit the garam masala.

 

About catrinaburgess

YA Horror Paranormal Author Books: Awakening & Possession Howdy, Dudettes & Dudes. I'm Catrina Burgess AKA Chaoscat I live in a small mining town in Arizona. The place at night is definitely spooky. I swear I've heard the wind giggle and sometimes there's a very odd breeze that blows at night. There's something unnatural about it--it's truly spooky and sends shivers down your spine. I love all things that go bump in the night. I adore old movies.I’m a huge Joss Wheldon fan. When I grow up I want to be a super hero. I want a cool red and black costume and I want some rocken powers. I've been known to eat pizza and cold Chinese food for breakfast and I’m the queen of the board game Stratego. I’ve never been beaten. NEVER! ;-) I have evil Chronic Fatigue. Which makes life challenging sometimes. Book 2 avaiable 10/14, Book 3 available 10/21 & Book 4 coming Feb 2016 http://fullfathomfive.com/writers/catrina-burgess/the-dark-rituals/ The series had over 3 Million Reads on Wattpad/ Book 1 voted Wattpad Best Suspense 2014 Website - http://www.catrinaburgess.com/ Follow me on Twitter @catrinaburgess1 Personal Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/catrina.burgess.5 Author Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/authorcatrinaburgess Check out the Dark Ritual reviews on GoodReads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19086878-awakening
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

